2005-00-00 - document - NA२०६१-००-०० - दस्तवेज - नेसे

Archive ref no: NCA-21099 अभिलेखालय सि. नं.: NCA-21099

Royal Nepalese Army HQ

His Majesty the King of Nepal is the Supreme Commander in Chief of the Royal Nepalese Army. The Chief of the Army Staff (COAS), a four star General, commands the army. There are two Lieutenant Generals, the Chief of the General Staff (CGS) and the Chief of Staff (COS), who are directly responsible to the COAS.

The CGS, who is the head of "G" Branch, is mainly responsible for Operations, Intelligence, and Training. A Brigadier General each heads the training and intelligence branches; whereas the Directorate of Military Operations (DMO)is headed by a Major General, who is responsible for operations, planning, policy, staff-duties, budget requisition and allocation. Similarly, the Directorate of Military Intelligence (DMI) and the Directorate of Military Training (DMT) are responsible for intelligence and training respectively.

The COS is responsible for operations other than war. United Nations Peace-Keeping Operations, Nature Conservation and Wildlife Preservation, National Cadet Corps and various welfare schemes of the army falls under the sphere of responsibility of the COS. About 4400 RNA troops are involved in the nature conservation and wildlife protection duties at any given time.

The Adjutant General (AG), the Quarter Master General (QMG), the Master General of Ordinance (MGO) and the Inspector General (IG), all two star generals, are the other principal staff officers (PSOs) of the COAS. The Research and Development Directorate, the Defense Ordnance Productions Directorate and the Development Construction Directorate are directly responsible to the COAS.

The AG branch is mainly responsible for Personnel, which include recruitment, records, pay and services, posting and promotions of all Non Commissioned Officers and Junior Commissioned Officers, various ceremonies, legal and medical services. The QMG branch looks after the accommodation, rations, clothing, weapons, ammunition and explosives, equipment and maintenance of the whole army. The MGO branch is responsible for procuring equipment and material for the army. The IG branch inspects the operational readiness of the army.

Combat Divisions & Brigades

The Royal Nepalese Army is primarily composed of Combat Divisions, which contain Combat Brigades, Combat Support and Combat Service Support Units. Each Combat Division / Brigade is responsible for a particular area and is augmented with necessary combat support and combat service support elements. One of the combat brigades is designated as the Royal Guards Brigade. There is also a Special Operations Brigade which includes a Reconnaissance Squadron, a Parachute Battalion, a Special Forces Regiment and a Ranger Battalion with the requisite support elements.

A Major General commands a Combat Division and a Brigadier General commands a Combat Brigade. The Brigade comprises of Infantry Battalions and Independent Infantry Companies. Depending upon the geographical region of the country each Combat Brigade may have two to three Infantry Battalions and up to six or more independent Infantry Companies. A Signals Company, an Engineer Field Company, a Light Artillery Battery, an Air Defense Battery, a Field Ambulance Company, Transport elements, Ordnance elements and Repair workshop elements augment each Brigade.

An Infantry Battalion, commanded by a Lieutenant Colonel, comprises of Rifle Companies, Support Company and a Logistics Company. Majors command Companies and Lieutenants command Platoons. Captains are the Company Second in Command (2ICs) and Jemadars (Junior Commissioned Officers - Warrant Officer equivalents) are the Second in Command of the Platoons. A Platoon consists of three Sections and each Section is commanded by a Havaldar (Sergeant), a Non Commissioned Officer (NCO).

The Support Company of an Infantry Battalion consists of a Mortar Platoon, Medium Machine Gun Platoon, Anti-Tank Platoon, Signals Platoon and an Assault Pioneer Platoon. A Captain commands each of these Platoons and Subedars (Junior Commissioned Officers - Warrant Officer equivalents) are their Seconds in Command. A Captain (Medical Doctor) commands Medical Platoon in the Administrative/ Logistics Company.

Combat Support Directorates

Brigadier Generals command all the Support Directorates. Field Artillery, Air Defense Artillery, Engineers and Signals have their own directorates. Each directorate is responsible for the training, posting and promotion of their non commissioned or junior commissioned ranks. Each Director is also responsible of advising the COAS on matters pertaining to their respective arms.

Combat Service Support Directorates

Similar to the Combat Support Directorate, the Combat Service Support Directorates are also commanded by Brigadier Generals and the Commanders are their respective services' advisors to the COAS. They are also responsible for producing the relevant trained and skilled manpower as per the requirement of the army.

RNA Training Establishments

Training is a mainstay activity for any Army. The RNA institutionalized modern training with the establishment of the RNA School in Chhauni in 1953. Today, the RNA has many specialized army-level academies and schools under the DMT. The main establishments are:

Present Concept

With the creation of Divisions, the RNAHQ now has to deal only with the Division HQs. This greatly simplifies the chain of command. The Division Commanders are also given the necessary freedom to plan and execute operations in their own sectors, which has improved the overall operational efficiency of the army. With this idea in mind, the concept visualizes the eventual deployment of a Division in each of the five development regions and one in Kathmandu valley. In line with the principle of providing equal opportunity for women, in the first phase, five percent of the strength will consist of women.

National Security Council (NSC)

As per the Constitution of Nepal, the RNA can be mobilized only after His Majesty's approval on the recommendations presented by the NSC. The NSC comprises of the Prime Minister, the Defense Minister and the COAS. NSC Secretariat directly advises the NSC on security matters. It consists of representatives from the RNA, Police, Armed Police, Civil Servants and the National Intelligence Bureau. A Major General heads the RNA contingent in the secretariat.

Constitutional Provision Regarding the Royal Nepalese Army

(Part 20. Miscellaneous)

Para 118.

Para 119.

Supreme-Command of the Royal Nepal Army and Appointment of the Chief Of Army Staff: